Kings of Northumbria

From around 550 AD two Anglian kingdoms emerged in Northumbria.
To the north of the River Tyne, occupying present-day Northumberland, was Bernicia, with its capital at Bamborough, ruled by the House of Ida.
To the south of the Tyne was Deira, with its capital at York.
There was fierce fighting between the Anglians and the Celts, with seiges at Holy Island and battles in the sand. The Celts were pushed back towards the Irish Sea.
The two kingdoms were joined in 588 AD as Northumbria.
King Æthelfrith waged a ruthless war on the Celts, forcing the Cymry tribe out of Cumberland. When they fled into Wales they took their name with them and gave Wales its "Welsh" name Cymru.

Kings of Bernicia

Ida, King of Bernicia 547-560
King Ida of Bernicia on GEDCOM Database
Theodoric, King of Bernicia 560-567
Adda, King of Bernicia 567-?
Eanfrith, King of Bernicia 632-633

Kings of Deira

Ælla, King of Deira 560-588
Edwin, King of Deira 616-632
Æthelwald, King of Deira 651-654

Kings of Northumbria

Æthelric, King of Northumbria 588-593 (& Bernica 580-588)
Æthelfrith, King of Northumbria 593-616
Edwin, King of Northumbria 616-632
Oswald, King of Northumbria 633-641
Oswiu, King of Northumbria 641-670
Ecgfrith, King of Northumbria 670-685
Aldfrith, King of Northumbria 685-704
Osred, King of Northumbria 705-716
Osric, King of Northumbria 718-729
Ceolwulf, King of Northumbria 729-737
Eadbert, King of Northumbria 737-757
Osulf, King of Northumbria 757-759


Chris's History Page

Chris's Homepage